Connections

Sometimes I tend to overlook the little things. I forget to say thanks to the one who really matters, who makes it happen and who provides my purpose. I’m going to try to recognize and share some of those Ah Ha moments. Please bear with my thought processes, you know how they work by now.

Our neighbor gave us some fresh vegetables, including a couple of zucchini squash. Last night I drug out a cookbook to see if there was a new and different way to make zucchini bread. I found a recipe and came in the house and made a couple of loaves of whole wheat yeast bread .

Now what would possess me to start bread rising at 10:00 at night, make me get up twice in the night to punch down the batter for it to rise again, then get up early enough to make it into loaves and bake it before church?? THEN….take 2 loaves to give to our pastor Bob and his wife Martha. Especially when zucchini bread takes about 5 minutes to mix up and 20 more to have a baked loaf.

I was wondering this myself – until I got to church this morning and the message centered on God’s words:

And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst. (John 6:35).

My loaf of bread was used on God’s table at the front of our church to symbolize the analogy of food/God’s body as well as eating to be full or consuming to be fulfilled. The Hebrews remind me a little of Rain Man when he was focused on the underwear. Sometimes we get too into the literal and miss the big picture. Then there are times I miss out altogether. Today wasn’t one of those days. Ah Ha!!

Leave a Reply

