First Day of Advent

Advent means “to anticipate the arrival”- and amidst the holiday decorations our hearts quietly prepare to celebrate the birth of our savior, Jesus Christ. Today is the beginning of Advent. I can’t help but think of poor Mary – 9 months pregnant riding cross country on a donkey, then laboring and giving birth among the sheep and cows. Word has it the doors were low, requiring you to kneel to enter. Pregnant, donkey, kneeling and hay don’t conjure up Kodak moments for me, but I can visibly imagine Mary cradling this tiny baby as the stars sparkled and the world was changed.

This came to my mind as I was reading a blog that I’ve frequented the last few months. If you haven’t met Conor, Boothe, Sellers and Copeland Farley – take a moment to read their story. I happened to click on a link that took me to 99 Balloons – and as I listened to this daddy chronicle the life of his precious son – I wept.

During this time of anticipation and preparation, I pray for these families. I pray for all families separated – by death, war, pride or circumstance. As I thank God for my many blessings, I also thank him for the opportunity to be touched by Boothe’s writings, her struggles and her everpresent faith in the Lord. Through my tears my spirit is lifted.

We have so many blessings to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

