Braden – Day 4

From Kaci –

Jan. 13, 2008

Braden has had a rough two days. He is doing LOTS better but he feels worse.  He has a drain tube and 3 incisions in his side and an incision in his back. He is very sore, swollen from so much fluids, and has wires and tubes coming from everywhere. We have finally gotten his fever under control and that is a huge relief. It was 104.5 and they could not break it with medication. We had to wrap him in a cool sheet and keep cool rags on him. This is the most helpless feeling I have ever experienced. It is so hard to watch your baby in so much pain, knowing there is nothing you can do to make it better. We really appreciate all the prayers. God has definitely been with us the past week. Please continue to keep him in your prayers. I hope to be sending an email soon saying he gets to go home. Lots of love to you all!!
Kaci
From me –
Lexi and I are driving home today.  We’re handing off to Kaci’s dad to stay with Kali.  It’s hard to leave, but was great to see him chatty and feisty last night.  I made his favorite Captain Crunch cookies yesterday hoping to perk him up – and they did.  We played bubbles, got out some of his cars and he got a new “crank bait” with hooks removed.  He sat up in Kaci or Brad’s lap, but he’s really stiff and sore.  Movement is encouraged, but it is slow going.  Hopefully the tubes will come out today and some of the swelling and soreness will subside.  Thank you for your continued prayers.
One response to “Braden – Day 4

  1. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day.

    I read through all the posts about your grandson and said a prayer for him. I have a nephew named Braden (even spelled the same!)

    Also, I enjoyed your ACE post below. I love AI and can’t wait until the premiere tomorrow night! Ace’s year I was more of a Daughtry fan, but Ace was great at the concert, and I almost caught his beanie hat that he threw to the audience. We met Melinda D. last year on her hometown visit, and my dd was chosen to unveil the street sign that was named for her. You could see her face on the show for about 3 seconds. Exciting stuff.

Leave a Reply

