Puny

A highlight in our day is sitting down to the dinner table.  We seldom go out to eat, preferring to share our day at our own house.  When we moved to Illinois our house wasn’t ready to move into so we lived in a hotel for 2 weeks.   I was kind of excited to pick a new restaurant every night with Keith’s company picking up the tab.  After a week, Lexi was in tears and begging for real food with vegetables.   Nicholas had scoped out all the dessert menus and slurped all the whipped cream fruity drinks he could handle.

So today I put a roast in the crockpot, covered it in potatoes, carrots and onions before taking the kids to their music lessons.  I came home and baked an apple pie and put in some biscuits.

All this and Keith comes home, goes straight to bed with chills and a burning fever.  He’s got the electric blanket cranked up to 9.  If I can’t tempt him from under the covers with gravy, he’s really sick!   He likes gravy better than I like chocolate!   In the hundred years I’ve known him, he’s been sick about 4 times and 3 of those landed him in the hospital (appendix, spinal meningitis and something they never figured out).    He’s just a healthy guy.  Probably because he works out every single day.  I haven’t exercised in the last 18,407 days.  We’re two halves of a whole.   He can be the sick half – I’ll watch from the living room, eating his pie.

2 responses to “Puny

  1. I hope he feels better soon. I am glad to hear I am not the only one who 1) prefer home cooked meals and 2) doesn’t live to exercise! I think the only thing I prefer to eating at home is a big ole’ picnic, where lots of people bring their homecooking together!!!

  2. Aw, I hope he’s better by now. I admire his dedication to working out, but I’m with you….let’s share some pie.

Leave a Reply

