Sausage Bread

saturdaystirrings.jpg

Click for MORE Saturday Stirrings


Italian Sausage Bread

2 (1 pound) loaves frozen white bread dough, thawed
1/2 pound mild pork sausage
1 1/2 cups diced fresh mushrooms
1/2 cup chopped onion
3 eggs
2 1/2 cups shredded
mozzarella cheese
2 teaspoons Italian seasoning
1 teaspoon garlic powder

Allow dough to rise until nearly doubled.

Brown and crumble sausage. Add mushrooms and onion. Cook and stir until done, drain. Cool. Beat 1 egg, set aside. To sausage mixture, add 2 eggs, cheese and seasonings; mix well. Roll each loaf of dough into a 16-in. x 12-in. rectangle. Spread half the sausage mixture on each loaf to within 1 in. of edges. Roll up jelly-roll style, starting at a narrow end; seal edges.

Place on a greased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees F for 25 minutes; brush with beaten egg. Bake 5-10 minutes more or until golden brown. Serve warm.

9 responses to “Sausage Bread

  1. I used to make this all the time and then sort of forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder. It is delish!

  2. This sounds luscious!

  3. Now that sounds YUMMY! I’m putting it in my recipes to try!

  4. I’m going to forward his to my son and his wife who love to entertain. Sounds like a great party recipe!

  5. Oh does this sound good! Can’t wait to try it.:-)

  6. This sounds intriguing. I’ll have to experiment to make it hit my family allergy safety, but I’m loving the concept.

  7. I make this but put pepperoni slices inside the dough, with cheese, and a little bit of sauce. Stromboli! Heaven!

  8. Okay, you never want me to be able to fit into my jeans again, right? This dish would make me hugely popular with my family at family functions. Emphasis on HUGELY.

    Yum. Thanks Kim, for participating in the inaugural Saturday Stirrings! I think this will be a lot of fun.

  9. I’m going to try this sometime this week I think your god son will love it. You know how he is if it’s made out of bread he will eat it, miss ya

Leave a Reply

