Best of Both Worlds

I miss you
I miss your smile
And I still shed a tear
Every once in a while
And even though it’s different now
You’re still here somehow
My heart won’t let you go
And I need you to know
I miss you
Song lyrics, beautiful ballad, unlikely singer. At least to me. Written and performed by Miley Cyrus. Lexi and I donned our 3D sunglasses yesterday to see the limited cinema Hannah Montana concert. Zap me right back to Teen Beat, Davy Jones, Paul Revere and the Raider’s-one-and-only Mark Lindsay! Brought back memories when even I dreamed of being a glamour girl wearing my hot pants, halter top and wedge heels. Sigh….

100_0063.jpg
I must say, the visual effects were almost as good as having a concert floor seat! We enjoyed seeing the choreography, rehearsals and what goes on backstage before a performance. I have a new respect for Billy Ray Cyrus – and his wife Tish – for what seems to be a loving and structured upbringing for their rising star daughter. The marketing of Hannah/Miley is pure genius. While Hannah songs seem a little more wholesome, Miley came across as a little more mature and edgy to me. Lexi says she can’t tell the difference and would SO wear tulle lime green can-can with high top tennis shoes! Wholesome girl, cute clothes, superstar lifestyle and actually, some pretty good music. And OH MY! Seeing those dads run races in heels to win concert tickets for their daughters? PRICELESS! I laughed until I was in tears. Lexi’s dad would run in pumps AND a bikini for his little princess! And I’d bet he’d win!
The lyrics I quoted above were written by Miley Cyrus in tribute to her granddad. As she played the guitar and sang these sweet words, pictures of the two of them flashed on the screens behind her. We can only hope these family values are rooted deep enough to sustain the shallow world of the entertainment industry.
You used to call me your dreamer
And now I’m living out my dream
Oh how I wish you could see
Everything that’s happening for me
I’m thinking back on the past
It’s true that time is flying by too fast
I know you’re in a better place, yeah
But I wish that I could see your face, oh
I know you’re where you need to be
Even though it’s not here with me
-Miley Cyrus
4 responses to “Best of Both Worlds

  1. I bet you could still pull off those hot pants 🙂

  2. I saw her sing that song on some morning show or something…with the pictures flashing behind her. It brought tears to my eyes. Don’t tell Lexi..or Laken..but it’s on my ipod now. :X

  3. I love the glasses, I remember wearing them in the 80’s

  4. @megan

    It was on Oprah, the second time she was there on the show.

    The song “I Miss you” is really different from her other songs and she should sing that way more often.

    In general, i have the same feelings for the movie which i watched 2 times since i know i cannot watch it in 3D at home, High-def? maybe, DVD? Definitely

Leave a Reply

