Peek-a-BOO

Do you believe in witches or ghosts? Other than the Holy Ghost, I’m a bit of a skeptic. I grew up with Casper and Samantha and Endora, and I know for a fact that twitching my nose does not the lottery win.

Last night, Lexi scooted into the living room at bedtime claiming her room was haunted. Courageous big brother went to investigate and they returned wide-eyed and yammering a mile a minute. Keith busily ignored them, so I hauled myself out of the chair to check out the source of their excitement.

Nothing.

We stood there quietly listening.

Nothing. The kids were talking over each other, imitating the rat-ta-tat-tat. I’m hoping a squirrel baby hasn’t fallen down the inside of the wall – because I’ve entertained that aroma once before.

Nothing. I turned to go, rolling my eyes at the kids.

Rat-ta-tat-tat
:::pause:::
Rat-ta-tat-tat

I was getting the “eye” from the kids while I was trying to look confidently unworried – and moved to the source of the noise.

Peeking over the edge of the bed, praying it wasn’t a flying badger poised to chomp onto my nose – I discovered the culprit. A dark brown and black, big toothed, scary CELL PHONE set on VIBRATE.

I had the last eye roll of the evening, thankyouverymuch.

2 responses to “Peek-a-BOO

  1. Kim,

    I’m glad Kaci finally updated her link to your blog….
    The cell phone post was GREAT…..when I get my remote control GIANT spider….I say GIANT because I can’t spell…tarantula…is that right?….anyhow, you can put it under her bed and have it come scurrying out…..ba haaaaa….

  2. Bwahahahahahahaaaaaa. Don’t ya love kids?

Leave a Reply

