Balancing Act

Sometimes, well more often than not, I have no words to explain what I know to be true.  If you know me, you’re aware that I don’t reach out very often for support or advice.   I attribute this to a balance of fear and pride.  It is agonizing for me to…gulp…ASK…and as a result feel abandoned, ignored or my concerns trivialized – so I avoid that exposure as much as possible.

Today, I searched the net for specific words – and came up with this answer to my unpublished question.

We say we have faith, but fear keeps us from letting him carry us when the way seems fraught with danger. Instead, we stay where it’s safe. Trouble is, where there is no risk, there is no reward. Any meaningful relationship, with God or another human being, must be built on absolute, unwavering trust. A trust that knows the dangers of handing your heart to another, but decides the risk is worth it.

Seen from another perspective, all Christians are meant to be like those tightrope walkers who boldly step across a half-inch wire, three storeys in the air. We’re called to rise above the world and accept the responsibilities that come with higher living. Anxiety gives way to exhilaration when we find balance, poise and confidence in Christ. We can do that by understanding how high wire artists work.

When standing upright, every human body has a spot called “the centre of mass”, the point where the overall bulk of the body is concentrated. If the high wire artist’s centre of mass isn’t kept directly above the wire, gravity makes the performer rotate to one side or the other. If this isn’t corrected, the tightrope walker falls. In other words, the secret to balance is to keep the body absolutely centred above the wire.

Think of your eternal spirit as your “centre of mass” and Jesus as the wire that gets you from one end of life to the other, up above the world and its distractions. The key to spiritual balance is to stay perfectly centred on Christ. “Everything else is worthless when compared to the priceless gain of knowing Christ,” Paul writes (Phil. 3:8)   Read the entire article here:  A Balancing Act by Rick Gamble

So here is the question:  How do you balance trusting God and having faith He is leading you – with the reality of making responsible choices.    I understand the necessity of a close, intimate relationship with the Lord – but quite honestly I don’t always differentiate HIS will from my own logical thought processes.

I don’t want to be like Jim here:

There was a man called Jim, who lived near a river.  Jim was a religious man.

One day, the river rose over the banks and flooded the town, and Jim was forced to climb onto his porch roof.

While sitting there, a man in a boat comes along and tells Jim to get in the boat with him.

Jim says “No, that’s ok. God will take care of me.”

So, the man in the boat drives off.

The water rises, so Jim climbs onto his roof.

At that time, another boat comes along and the person in that one tells Jim to get in.

Jim replies, “No, that’s ok. God will take care of me.”

The person in the boat then leaves.

The water rises even more, and Jim climbs on his chimney.

Then a helicopter comes and lowers a ladder. The woman in the helicopter tells Jim to climb up the ladder and get in.

Jim tells her “That’s ok.”

The woman says “Are you sure?”

Jim says, “Yeah, I’m sure God will take care of me.

Finally, the water rises too high and Jim drowns.

Jim gets up to Heaven and is face-to-face with God.

Jim says to God “You told me you would take care of me! What happened?”

God replied “Well, I sent you two boats and a helicopter. What else did you want?”

Signature

3 responses to “Balancing Act

  1. Faith is the ‘core’ while Trust is the humility that surrounds it. Allow the Trust to balance you. You’ll know it in your heart.

    Are you a boat or a helicopter sent to me?

    Peace to your day!

  2. Tried to e-mail you, but it was returned. Did you chang your e-mail address? How are you all doing? Naomi comes home fro Thanksgiving on Tuesday night – Sunday. Can’t wait.
    Hope to hear back from you,

    maria and jack

  3. When I feel the Lord talking to me, I hear it EVERYWHERE….from friends, family, radio, tv, etc….it just keeps popping up….then I take the leap of faith and go for it. Yes, I even pray for parking spots…ba haaaa. If I don’t get a “good” one, I assume the Lord is telling me I need to exercise more….lol.

Leave a Reply

